LovelySkin Logo

travel essentials
Return to Product Details
La Roche-Posay Anthelios 50 Daily Anti-Aging Primer with Sunscreen, a La Roche Posay primer

Reviews For
La Roche-Posay Anthelios 50 Daily Anti-Aging Primer with Sunscreen


View Product Details

Write a Review - Receive 50 Rewards Points!

Tell us your thoughts about La Roche-Posay Anthelios 50 Daily Anti-Aging Primer with Sunscreen so we can help you find the right products. With your review, you’ll also receive 50 Rewards Points. Please note that it may take up to 72 hours for a review to appear on site. All reviews are subject to moderator approval.

Write a Review


40 Results
Good Protection
July 01, 2017

I would recommend this product for use by all ages. I apply it either before I put on my mineral-based powder/foundation or use alone after I apply my morning skin care products. The coverage is great, I am able to apply my make-up smoothly, and I don't find it ''melting'' as the day goes on. My only difficulty is that as I got down to the end of the tube, I had a difficult time getting the product out and then it came out in clumps. Guess it was time for a new one!

Best I've ever used.
June 21, 2017

I have had cancer on my nose which when removed came back many times worse and had to have Kohls surgery to remove it. My dermatologist suggested using La Roche Posey sunscreen products to protect my skin. I found the anthelios 50 Antiaging Primer w/sunscreen and religiously use it daily. At first when you squeeze it from the tube it seems extremely thick. Once massaged into the skin your face not only looks better, but it is also very smooth and silky to the touch. For a seventy year old woman to feel this happy about her face, you know this product has to be wonderful.

Best face sunscreen I've tried
June 15, 2017

I'm very fair skinned and burn easily. I've tried dozens of facial sunscreen and this one is hands down my favorite. When it first comes out of the tube it has a thick consistency, but melts right in my skin and is so smooth. I wait about 5 minutes to apply my makeup. I let a friend try it and now she loves it too. Highly recommend!

Did Not Work for Me
February 24, 2017

I was hoping this would take the place of 2 products, but it was thick and felt heavy on my skin. Makeup did not stay put and I was shiny after 4 hours. Really disappointed after paying so much!

Best facial sunscreen
February 12, 2017

I have used many, many sunscreens for my fair skin and this is by far my favorite. According to Consumer Reports La Roche-Posay is just one of 3 sunscreens that actually work. After reading that I had to try it. I use the Anthelios 50 Daily Anti-Aging Primer with Sunscreen and I won't be without it. The primer gives my skin a smooth, soft appearance and my foundation glides on easily. I am 58.

LaRoche Posay Anthelios 50 anti aging primer
January 13, 2017

Love the look and feel of this product. Minimizes pores great under foundation. Skin feels hydrated all day.

Effective SPF and Foundation for Makeup
January 11, 2017

tldr version: Despite its quirks, this product provides the priming and protection I want, and unless I find something else I'll probably buy it again. This is the most recent step in my pursuit of primers that provide the SPF I want to slather all over my face, while helping rather than harming the application of the light coverage I need. The product's consistency surprised me. It's certainly not something you could slather, that's for sure. It's thick, more like a paste than a lotion or even the richest face cream. Rather than stick to your skin in globs, you're rather in danger of loosing bits as it rolls off between your fingers and skin. It won't spread easily. However, with very small amounts applied at a time, you can spread it thinly and evenly over your face. Because it requires a little more pressure, I'm worried about pulling more at my skin that I do with, say, the very runny SPF I also wear. But that could just be my body dysmorphia and anxiety. I actually don't think it requires any real pulling. You just have to work in small areas. I can't really tell if the primer has a mattifying effect, as it claims. Let's put it this way: I don't want to look matte and didn't notice a problem. If that's what you're going for, this product and some powder or mineral foundation would probably do the trick. On its own, it's neither matte nor shiny. I can't tell if it does much in the way of "blurring," another of its claims. I think it would feel too sticky without a layer of makeup, however thin, over it, like the adhesive side of tape left uncovered. This all sounds mediocre, but the truth is I really like this product. It doesn't impair my foundation the way other SPFs gave and provides the protection you can't get from most primers. I would still recommend wearing another SPF around your eyes and on your neck, as this is pricey, mildly sticky when left bare, and should only be used where you need actual priming.

Too Thick
December 10, 2016

I did not like this primer. It is way too thick coming out of the tube and you have to work it onto your face. I also noticed that by the end of the work day, my makeup was almost sliding off my skin. It settled in the wrinkles at the sides of my mouth. When I stopped using this primer, that stopped happening. I will not purchase this again.

Best Primer
September 28, 2016

Goes on very smooth and gives good coverage. Little goes a long way and actually I only need less foundation. I've tried several primers and this is by far the best.

Great primer
September 12, 2016

I've just started using this product and have already decided it's the best primer I've found for my dry, mature skin. I use a moisturizer first, then this primer, and then my liquid foundation. It seem to keep my foundation fresher for a longer period of time and my face is protected from the sun's rays.

Sadly Disappointed
September 09, 2016

I have been using La Roche-Posay skin care products for years, as a matter of fact, I once decided to use all the "free" samples I received from different places and made a mess on my face with very dry spots and flaky skin. Needless to say I went back to La Roche-Posay ASAP! That's why I hate to give Anthelios 50 only one star. Its consistency is grainy, unspreadable and does not stay on. I will return it ASAP!

Athelios 50 anTo aging primer and sunscreen
August 23, 2016

I love this! It was recommended by a friend and I love it. Looks natural and gives a smooth appearance while offering protection at the same time. Non greasy and no breakouts at all.

Absolutely love this!
July 31, 2016

This is my favorite primer not only is it sunscreen and anti-aging but it leaves your skin looking flawless with a nice matte but not dry look. Makes a perfect canvas for face powder! I love it!

My search for the right primer is over
May 17, 2016

I have sensitive, combination (oily T-zone) skin and this is the ONLY product that visibly smooths, doesn't clog my pores or cause me to break out, and gives me the UV protection I want. It is also provides a great canvas for makeup, though I often skip the foundation altogether and just use this with a light dusting of powder on top. I won't try another primer again I've found the one for me.

Unbelievably Wonderful!
April 06, 2016

I am so glad that I purchased this product! I have a drawer full of primers and none of them have really worked for my 50+ skin. The only reason that I decided to try this one was because of the sunscreen element. Often with sunscreens, I find that they pill up when I apply any kind of foundation over them. I was about to return ANOTHER foundation because I didn't like the way it clung to dry patches and this primer made it behave perfectly! This definitely has a strange consistency but as other reviewers have said, a little goes a long way. I squeeze out a little and warm it up between my fingers and it warms up further as I smooth it over my skin. Love it!

Perfect Primer
June 18, 2015

Id never used a primer before this one. Ive been using it for 3 years now. Leaves a perfect matte finish to use alone or under foundation. Smooths over my large pores. Sunscreen is a plus. Comes out of the tube very thick, a little goes a long way, it sort of "melts" on your skin.

another great product from LaRoche Posay-great for shine control
June 15, 2015

anthelios 50 sunscreen+primer-I have been using this product for years! Not only does it have sunscreen(spf50), but the primer controls oily shine All Day w/o being greasy, even better than mattifying silicone products Ive tried. I mix it with another moisturizer in winter for dryness and it works just as well.

Your skin looks SO even and beautiful
May 12, 2015

I LOVE this product and have used it for years. Its amazing and you can literally see a "before" and "after". Its almost as if you had the "blur" function from Photoshop in reality.

Great Sunscreen
April 19, 2015

I have been using this product for 3 years. I have oily skin and it keeps my makeup fresh all day. It is one product that continues to work.

Best combo sunscreen and primer
September 10, 2014

This is a great, high 50 SPF sunscreen and primer combined. Although it is broad spectrum it is not a sunblock. When I used it I did NOT need my mineral powder as my complexion was "blurred" quite nicely. My derm recently told me I should use a total sunblock so I began blending a little of my Anthelios 50 Primer with a total block and it was perfect. No breakouts, no shine and very pretty skin with great protection. By the way I used Replenix Sheer Physical Sunscreen to blend with my Anthelios.

Great Primer
August 11, 2014

I wish I had discovered this product before the summer had started! When I bought it I thought it was a sunscreen but it really is a primer with a high SPF. Its a thick creamy primer that really smooths skin and fills in imperfections (especially large pores, a bonus!), and as previously noted, a little really goes a long way. I only wear this on the weekends, when I know Ill primarily be outdoors and need the extra sun protection. It also keeps my makeup from day to night. Will keep. Will buy again.

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE
March 04, 2014

This is a perfect way to protect and to smooth out all the little imperfections before applying my make up. A little goes along way, pressing it gently into the skin. I like using it in where I have larger pores and fills them in. Two amazing features in one, primer and a 50spf sunscreen that is light and non greasy.

Not Great on Oily Skin
March 03, 2014

I have 0ily/Combination skin and when I applied this sunscreen, my skin felt very greasy. I kept waiting to see if it would absorb into my skin but it never did. The times that I have applied the sunscreen, I would just apply the Substiane + Serum and avoid moisturizing. The texture of this sunscreen feels and looks like vaseline. I will probably try the other Anthelios products that are lighter and best for my type of skin.

Love this product!
January 16, 2014

I have combination / dry / mature skin. I recently started using this. I only need a tiny bit. I spread it on my fingers and apply. Feels like silk. My makeup looks much smoother since I started using this product. Very happy!

Great Sunscreen and Primer for Oily Skin
November 12, 2013

I love this sunscreen! Living in Scottsdale, AZ, the sun is strong all year long and daily protection is a must even if you are just going to and from the car. I use the Elta MD Clear and then apply this over it in the t-zone and around my eyes. It blurs the wrinkles and provides a fantastic matte base for makeup. I used to go through several blotters a day to get rid of nose and chin shine, but find when using this product that I only need one blotter touch-up during the day. It takes a few attempts to determine how to apply the product as it is very dense. I put a little on the back of my hand, warm/blend it slightly, and the sunscreen glides easily over my face.



Loading
877-754-6222
Need Help?
Let's Chat
Customer Care Hours
Mon - Thur 9 - 6 p.m. CT
Fri 9 - 5 p.m. CT
Sat 9 - 3 p.m. CT
Sun / Holidays Closed
Tel:402-697-1100