20191113 POW - Holiday Gift Guide
Return to Product Details
SkinMedica Essential Defense Mineral Shield Broad Spectrum SPF 35

Reviews For
SkinMedica Essential Defense Mineral Shield Broad Spectrum SPF 35

View Product Details

Write a Review - Receive 50 Rewards Points!

Tell us your thoughts about SkinMedica Essential Defense Mineral Shield Broad Spectrum SPF 35 so we can help you find the right products. With your review, you’ll also receive 50 Rewards Points. Please note that it may take up to 72 hours for a review to appear on site. All reviews are subject to moderator approval.

Write a Review


23 Results
October 19, 2019

Love it!

Love this sunscreen and so I used it every morning :-). Doesn't irritate my skin, doesn't cause breakouts, and best of all doesn't leave a white chalky layer. I think my skin looks better when I put it on. I got a free sample at a dermatology event and now I'm hooked!

Profile Photo

SjudgesAZ

Verified Purchase

August 20, 2019

Great sunscreen for sensitive skin

Very light and not oily. I love the way it feels on my skin. I wear it under my makeup and it feels that my makeup stays longer because of this. Small drop goes a long way.

Profile Photo

ALAG

Verified Purchase

July 31, 2019

Good sunscreen, nice texture

I've found out that I have to stick to all mineral sunscreens or else my skin ends up with bumps all over. I enjoy using this one as it is kind of creamy and easily spreadable, and I don't detect any white cast after it has dried. My only complaint is that it seems to leave a bit of a greasy look, but it is easily taken care of with a small bit of powder or by dabbing with a blotter sheet. Overall, not bad.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

March 08, 2019

Light sunscreen

Nice light sunscreen that isn’t sticky and doesn’t make you feel greasy. Perfect for sensitive skin!!

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

February 21, 2019

Great UV protection!

I love SkinMedica sunscreens! This mineral only sunscreen does a great job at protecting your skin, it’s easy to spread, has a nice consistency and is non-drying. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because it has a very slight white cast.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

September 21, 2018

Excellent sunscreen for sensitive skin!

This is my second purchase. The product lasts a long time which makes it a good purchase despite the small size and cost. I have very sensitive skin, and this sunscreen does not irritate my face. It goes on smoothly and is not greasy. I will continue to buy this product. LovelySkin always has great sales on products and the customer service is beyond compare–a rare thing to find as of late.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

July 26, 2018

Great lightweight daily sunscreen

This sunscreen is fantastic for my sensitive skin! Is lightweight and wears beautifully under makeup. Highly recommend!

Profile Photo

Sadiedog

Verified Purchase

July 25, 2018

Light and effective

This SPF cream is perfectly light for my combo skin and also doubles as a moisturizer in the summer. My nose is the first place to react to a product being too heavy, and this stuff never gives me any problems. It absorbs fast and comes loaded with some antioxidants. I wish the price was lower, but it is the best physical sunscreen I have tried (and I have tried many). As a guy, this does the trick on my hairy face, without any issues.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

March 28, 2018

Not quite lightweight or sheer

I think I'm going to give up on finding a sunblock that is REALLY sheer and lightweight, as well as non-greasy. Every product that I try that makes these claims, disappoints. This is a good sunscreen in terms of protecting your skin from sun damage, but it's not great if you want to have a perfect complexion. It leaves a white cast on the skin and it's a bit thick and greasy. I'm using it on weekends when we're out "playing," but I won't use it on a work day since it is too thick to wear with makeup. It seems as much as I want to avoid them, chemical sunscreens are truly the only non-greasy sheer options out there.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

March 14, 2018

Excellent product

I love this product. My second time purchasing it. It is sunscreen that also moisturizes your skin and makes it look great!

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

January 30, 2018

Great sunscreen

I am careful to always use a sunscreen. I have for the last 20 years and my skin has really benefited from this one important routine. I like the way this sunscreen goes on, not greasy or oily. My makeup goes on over and stays great. I trust this brand and love this product. It feels and looks great!

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

January 29, 2018

Best Sunscreen For Sensitive Skin

I've been using SkinMedica Essential Defense Mineral Shield Broad Spectrum SPF 35 for many years. I use both the plain and tinted. The tinted is smooth, and my foundation marries well with the sunscreen. I workout a lot and like the fact the plain sunscreen stays on. I do however, reapply after my hot yoga classes. I highly recommend this sunscreen.

Profile Picture for Darlene

dlbrock

Verified Purchase

January 23, 2018

Love It!

I am surprised I like this sun cream. I have used SkinCeuticals SPF for a couple of years and was having difficulties with it being a tad too drying. This one does not irritate my skin, does it dry it out, does not leave it sticky. No white case if it is rubbed in well. Now hat I am back on tretinoin I needed something that was soothing and not thick. This is perfect!!!!! It also lays well under my foundation and other makeup products. Thank goodness I found this!

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

December 29, 2017

Perfect

I love this sunscreen. It does not leave a white cast and it doesn't not ball up later. It's also light and perfect for my sensitive skin. You can reapply without any issue. It does not feel heavy.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

October 28, 2017

Great sunscreen

I have been searching for the perfect lightweight, moisturizing mineral-based sunscreen and have finally found it. I use this under foundation, and it works wonderfully. There is a slightly pale cast due to the zinc oxide, but that should be expected. There is no detectable scent either. I highly recommend this product!

Profile Photo

Lacey

Verified Purchase

October 04, 2017

Will definitely buy it again.

It is easy to apply and gentle to the face. Some sunscreen can string my face but this product is gentle.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

September 12, 2017

Good Sunscreen for Retin-A users

I found the sunscreen to be an excellent consistency for my skin. I've been using Retin-A for a while now. So my skin has gotten much dryer. This worked well and wasn't too greasy. Has not broken my skin out at all.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

August 07, 2017

Physical Sunscreens are a MUST

Got a sample of this and decided to buy it as I always use Physical Sunscreens. It is a nice product as most products I buy from Skin Medica are. It is not a ''huge'' bottle and given I cover my entire body, it lasts about 5 seconds for me ) but for those that just use it on the face, neck, and chest (don't forget the hands)! It is really nice!

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

June 23, 2017

SkinMedica Essential Defense Mineral Shield Broad Spectrum SPF 35

It provides good protection from the sun. Unfortunately, these mineral sun screens are not easily absorbed and often leave white marks on the skin.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

May 05, 2017

SkinMedica Essential Defense Mineral Shield

This product does not work for me. It makes my eyes burn and skin on my face feels irritated. I have used SkinMedica's Daily Physical Defense with no problem at all. But it unfortunately has been discontinued. Too bad.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

March 11, 2017

Excellent

It is light and sheer and I can wear it under makeup and not feel loaded down! I love it. I bought some for my 30-something daughter as her skin is starting to ''mature''. My dermatologist recommended it also! Thank you.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

January 18, 2017

Perfect sunscreen

I love this sunscreen. I've tried a dozen-plus since my last sunscreen was discontinued, and this is the only one I've found that does the job and doesn't break me out.

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

October 02, 2016

Good Sunscreen!

Skinmedica products are fantastic. This sunscreen is good, but isn't my favorite. In it's defense, my skin is so incredibly picky (hypersensitive, dry, acneic). Pros: Non-irritating, works as intended, minimal white cast, mineral sunscreen. Cons: Thick (still not greasy), relatively hard to blend in. Still giving it 4 stars because I stand behind this brand and think this product isn't a good fit for me. Maybe I should have tried the Oily skin version? I usually find those quite drying since I do have dry skin. Try this! It might be perfect for you :)

Profile Photo

LovelySkin Customer

Verified Purchase

5
5
4
5
4
5
5
5
3
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
5
4
1
5
5
4


Loading
402-697-1100
Need Help?
Let's Chat
Customer Care Hours
Mon - Thur 9 - 6 p.m. CT
Friday 9 - 5 p.m. CT
Sat 9 - 3 p.m. CT
Sun / Holidays Closed
Tel:402-697-1100